28 to Make · Create

28 to Make: Day Eight

This post is part of a series called 28 to Make, daily creative exercises provided by CreativeLive. See all the finished projects on Instagram under #28ToMake.

Day 8: 30 Circles

Today’s project is to come up with 30 ideas and draw them in the circles as quickly as possible. I’m not so quick.

30 small drawings in circles.

This was difficult for me. First of all, I’m not good at coming up with ideas, especially quickly. And I’m really not good at drawing them quickly (or well).

I tried to think of these as concepts. More specifically, concepts within the concept of a circle. That might sound too “hippy dippy” but it really helps. A concept helps you focus your ideas. If I just started drawing randomness, I think I would be so much more overwhelmed. Focusing on things that would be in a circle, or things that were circle-like, or even things that were anti-circle, really helped me to get some ideas out.

I spent about an hour on this project. I would like to do something like this in about 20 minutes. But I found myself at a loss for ideas and afraid to put things on the page for fear they wouldn’t turn out the way I saw them in my head. But I guess that’s all part of the process.

Other posts in this series:

Day Seven   •••••   Day Nine

 

Tell me what you think!

