28 to Make · Create · reflection · Think

28 to Make: Day Fourteen

This post is part of a series called 28 to Make, daily creative exercises provided by CreativeLive. See all the finished projects on Instagram under #28ToMake.

Day 14: Do nothing

Another day of rest. Here is my answer to one of the reflection questions.

What creative skill do you wish you were better at?

Drawing has never been my best skill. I’m a designer, and while lots of designers are good at drawing, good drawing skills don’t make good design. Your ideas might be prettier, but they aren’t necessarily good or right for the problem of the design. There is a great article written by John O’Nolan that talks specifically about the difference between art and design. He says, “Good art sends a different message to everyone. Good design sends the same message to everyone.” Design is a different skill set.

So I guess I could say that I wish I was better at drawing. And I guess that is true. But what I really wish I was better at is ideas. The 30 Circles project really showed me where I am lacking in this area. The idea of the project is to come up with 30 concepts/ideas and draw them in the circles as quickly as possible. I agonized over this. Thinking of ideas was difficult. Making the first line on the paper was difficult. I didn’t want to “get it wrong.” I think I spent over an hour on something that should have taken 20 minutes or less.

I think the solution to this comes with practice. Making things every day. Creativity breeds creativity, or so I’m told. The more you create, the more ideas you have to create. I used to think that I only had a few ideas in me. But it’s just not true. The more I make, the more there is to make.

Other posts in this series:

Day Thirteen   •••••   Day Fifteen

 

Tell me what you think!

