28 to Make · Create

28 to Make: Day Sixteen

This post is part of a series called 28 to Make, daily creative exercises provided by CreativeLive. See all the finished projects on Instagram under #28ToMake.

Day 16: Blackout Poetry

This was one of my favorite projects so far. I always love blackout poetry. It’s like found poems. Really cool.

Blackout Poem. Love hard work. Artists see history, class, religion, politics and pretend. Scribble on ordinary canvas.

I am a fan of Austin Kleon, author of Steal Like An Artist (love that title!) and he wrote a whole book of blackout poetry called Newspaper Blackout. There is also a Tumblr blog devoted to it.

I had fun doing this. It was harder than I thought it would be, mostly because I was trying to force a poem instead of just letting one come. Story of my life. I used an old issue of Real Simple magazine for this and incorporated the photo of the canvas from the article (originally it was blank). It’s really three poems in one but I guess you could read it as one poem. Doing a blackout poem really makes you think abstractly which is something I always need work on.

Other posts in this series:

Day Fifteen   •••••   Day Seventeen

 

Tell me what you think!

