Consume · theatre

Spamalot Made Me Laugh a Lot

Saturday night, I went to see Encore Theatrical Company’s production of Monty Python’s Spamalot. It was delightful. I had never seen it, although I spent many hours in high school watching Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It’s where I learned to do a British accent and an “outrageous” French one, too. My best friend and I would watch it every day after school.

Encore Theatrical’s production was amazing, especially for a small community theatre. From what I understand, they received so many donations that they were able to rent the costumes that were designed for the original London performance. The set was amazing, with plenty of pieces that came on and off and lots of lighting tricks and projections.

The cast was wonderful. Frank Williams was a suburb King Arthur, and Destiny Woods cracked me up as Lady of the Lake. Some of my favorite performances included Jon Luttrell as Dennis, Rus Mattocks as the French Taunter, Mike Howard as Herbert’s Father, and Jim Pope as Patsy. The entire cast was a joy to watch and you could tell they were having a blast.

If you haven’t made it over to Morristown, TN to see this show, I highly recommend it. And before the show, make sure you stop at the local Pal’s Sudden Service to get some Frenchie Fries. Best fries ever!

Tell me what you think!

